0 items0.00

No products in the cart.

GATHER THE DAUGHTERS

1,299.00

Described by Kate Hamer as ‘intriguing, gorgeously realised . . . inexorably draws you into its dark heart’, this novel for fans of Emma Cline’s THE GIRLS and Emily St John Mandel’s STATION 11 is a hugely compelling story of an isolated island cult that will get under your skin.

On a small isolated island, there’s a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day reign inside and outside the home, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood.

But before that time comes, there is an island ritual that offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps to roam wild: they run, they fight, they sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. They are free.

It is at the end of one of these summers, as the first frost laces the ground, that one of the younger girls witnesses something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home, muddy and terrified, clutching in her small hand a truth that could unravel their carefully constructed island world forever.

Out of stock

Described by Kate Hamer as ‘intriguing, gorgeously realised . . . inexorably draws you into its dark heart’, this novel for fans of Emma Cline’s THE GIRLS and Emily St John Mandel’s STATION 11 is a hugely compelling story of an isolated island cult that will get under your skin.

On a small isolated island, there’s a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day reign inside and outside the home, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood.

But before that time comes, there is an island ritual that offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps to roam wild: they run, they fight, they sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. They are free.

It is at the end of one of these summers, as the first frost laces the ground, that one of the younger girls witnesses something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home, muddy and terrified, clutching in her small hand a truth that could unravel their carefully constructed island world forever.

Weight 500 g
Binding

Publisher

Language

English

Author Name

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “GATHER THE DAUGHTERS”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SKU: 9781472241702 Categories: ,
Open chat